Porsche 250 Has History of Producing First-Time Winners

By Auto News Log • April 8th, 2010

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The Porsche 250 at Barber Motorsports Park has produced six different Daytona Prototype winners in seven years of competition at the pristine Birmingham, Ala., complex.

A number of teams will look to join that list when Round 3 of the 2010 GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 takes the green flag at 1:30 p.m. ET Saturday (SPEED, live).

Michael Shank Racing and Starworks Motorsport each have entered two cars in search of their first victory at the 2.3-mile, 17-turn circuit, with other teams looking for their first Barber victory including Brumos Racing, AIM Autosport, Doran Racing, and Spirit of Daytona Racing.

GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing is the lone two-time winner at Barber, and returns with the No. 99 Chevrolet Riley of 2007 and 2009 winners Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty. Other former winners set to compete are TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates, Krohn Racing and SunTrust Racing.

Michael Shank Racing will have a pair of Ford-powered Rileys, the No. 6 for Michael Valiante and Brian Frisselle, and the No. 60 of Ozz Negri and John Pew. Ryan Dalziel – who was part of the winning lineup in the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona and is currently second in the standings – joins Mike Forest in the Starworks Motorsport No. 8 BMW Riley. Bill Lester and new co-driver Kasper Andersen share the team’s No. 7 entry.

David Donohue and Darren Law return for Brumos Racing, co-driving the team’s No. 59 Porsche Riley. Brumos has a technical alliance with new Action Express Racing this season, with lead drivers Terry Borcheller and Joao Barbosa – both former winners at Barber – co-driving the No. 9 Porsche Riley. Borcheller won the inaugural event in 2003 in a Bell Motorsports Daytona Prototype, while Barbosa was that year’s GTS winner for Mosler Automotive.

Another team to watch is Spirit of Daytona Racing, with Buddy Rice and Antonio Garcia finishing fourth here last year in the No. 90 Porsche Coyote. Other teams looking for their first Barber victory are Mark Wilkins and Burt Frisselle, co-driving the No. 61 AIM Autosport Ford Riley, and Memo Gidley and new regular co-driver Dion von Moltke in the No. 77 Doran Racing Ford Dallara.

Daytona Prototype points leaders Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, the 2008 Porsche 250 winners, are in the No. 01 TELMEX BMW Riley. Krohn Racing – winners here in 2006 with Jorg Bergmeister and Colin Braun – will have Nic Jonsson and Tracy Krohn in the No. 75 Ford Proto-Auto Lola. Max Angelelli returns with Ricky Taylor, the son of 2005 co-winner Wayne Taylor, in the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Ford Dallara.

The Daytona Prototypes will share the circuit with the GT competitors. Matt Connolly Motorsports became the 17th GT entry on Tuesday, fielding the No. 19 Corvette for two-time Barber winner Andy Lally and Ross Smith.

Practice for the Porsche 250 begins at 2:55 p.m. ET on Thursday, April 8, with qualifying at 11:40 a.m. Friday.

Source: GRAND-AM Road Racing




Leave a Comment

« | Home | »