BMW Power Wins the Rolex 24 At Daytona

By Auto News Log • February 2nd, 2011

TELMEX/Target Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates BMW/Rileys Finish 1-2

Woodcliff Lake, N.J. – In front of the largest GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series crowd, the TELMEX/Target Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates BMW/Riley swept to a 1-2 victory at the 49th Rolex 24 At Daytona.

The No. 01 TELMEX/Target BMW/Riley of Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, Joey Hand and Graham Rahal finished 2.46 seconds ahead of the No. 02 Target/TELMEX machine of Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, Jamie McMurray and Juan Pablo Montoya. Both cars covered 720 laps of the 3.56-mile Daytona International Speedway road course during the race with Hand leading a race-high 116 laps. All of the BMW engines in the Rolex 24 were prepared by Dinan Motorsport.

This year’s race marked the 35th anniversary of BMW’s first overall victory at the twice-around-the-clock classic. In 1976, Peter Gregg, Brian Redman and John Fitzpatrick won in a BMW CSL.

Source: BMW


Leave a Comment

« | Home | »