ALMS: Long Beach Victories Tough To Come By

By Auto News Log • April 5th, 2011

List of multi-time winners is a short one

Since the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón first raced at the historic Long Beach circuit in 2007, multiple victories have been hard to come by.

Only one driver pairing in the last four seasons managed back-to-back class wins in the Tequila Patrón American Le Mans Series at Long Beach – Jörg Bergmeister and Patrick Long for Flying Lizard Motorsports and Porsche in 2009 and 2010. In addition, Corvette Racing’s Olivier Beretta and Oliver Gavin took GT1 victories in 2007 and 2009.

The only other competitors to win more than once at Long Beach are David Brabham (2008 LMP2 and 2010 overall) and Simon Pagenaud (2009 and 2010 overall). There are 12 previous Long Beach class winners entered for next week’s race. In contrast 17 drivers will make their first Long Beach start in the Series.

This year’s race will be telecast in its entirety on starting at 7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. local time. ESPN2 will provide television coverage from 5 to 7 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 17.

Source: American Le Mans Series


Leave a Comment

« | Home | »